AFCAT Exam Pattern 2019

AFCAT Exam Pattern 2019 – India Air Force (IAF) announces the exam pattern of AFCAT 2019 along with the notification. As per AFCAT exam pattern 2019, the online test will be conducted for 100 questions and candidates will be given 120 minutes to complete the test. AFCAT online test will comprise questions from General Awareness, Verbal Ability, Numerical Ability, and Reasoning and Military Aptitude Test will be asked in the exam. Ground Duty (Technical) branch candidates will have to take additional online test - Engineering Knowledge Test (EKT). Based on AFCAT exam pattern, the tests will be conducted in English and will comprise objective type questions. Indian Air Force will determine the qualifying cutoff marks for each stage of AFCAT.

AFCAT Exam Pattern 2019 – Highlights

Stages of Exam

Two stages – written exam and AFSB test

Mode of exam

Online exam

Type of questions

Objective type questions

Exam language



AFCAT Exam Pattern 2019 – Online test

As per exam pattern of AFCAT 2019, the online test comprises four sections - General Awareness, Verbal Ability, Numerical Ability, and Reasoning and Aptitude Test. The difficulty level of questions asked in Numerical Ability section will be similar to that of Class 10 level while the questions asked in the other three sections will be comparable to the standard of graduation level. There will be total 100 questions in the online test. The total marks allotted for the test is 300. AFCAT online test will be held for 120 minutes.


AFCAT Exam Pattern 2019 – EKT

Candidates having applied for Ground Duty (Technical branch) will have to appear for additional online test - Engineering Knowledge Test (EKT). The test will be conducted half an hour after the conclusion of AFCAT online test. Check the exam pattern of AFCAT Engineering Knowledge Test below.



Number of questions

Total marks






45 minutes

Computer Science

Electrical and Electronics


AFCAT 2019 Marking Scheme

Indian Air Force (IAF) prescribes the making scheme of AFCAT. The exam will contain only objective type questions. Based on AFCAT exam pattern 2019, candidates will be awarded 3 marks for every correct answer while 1 mark will be deducted for each incorrect response provided by candidates. However, no marks will be deducted for questions that have been left unattempted by candidates.


AFCAT Exam Pattern 2019 – AFSB Interview

Air Force Selection Board (AFSB) will conduct interview round for candidates who qualifies the online test. AFSB Interview will be conducted in three stages. On the basis of ASCAT exam pattern, the Board have announced that candidates must be able to run 1.6 km under 10 minutes, perform 10 push ups and three chin ups in order to be deemed eligible for the interview. The three stages of AFSB interview are as follows.

Stage 1 – The first stage of AFSB Interview includes Officer Intelligence Rating Test followed by picture perception and discussion test. This stage of Interview is qualifying in nature. On the basis of performance in Stage 1 interview, candidates will be selected for Stage 2. Candidates qualifying this stage will be called for document verification to determine whether these candidates fulfill all eligibility conditions of the posts they have applied for.

Stage 2 – Applicants who have cleared Stage 1 of AFSB Interview will be eligible to participate in Stage 2. This stage comprises psychological test followed by group tests and interview.

Note: Candidates who have applied for Flying branch will have to undergo an additional test - Computerised Pilot Selection System (CPSS). This test can be taken only once.

Applicants who have failed CPSS/PABT in previous attempts or Flight Cadet suspended from flight training at Air Force Academy will not be eligible to apply for Flying branch.

Never miss exam and college updates

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books