UPSC Civil Services Selection Process 2019

UPSC Civil Services Selection Process 2019 – Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) will conduct UPSC Civil Services exam to recruit candidates for various services and posts including Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service and Indian Revenue Service (IRS). As per UPSC Civil Services selection process 2019, the Commission holds the exam in two stages – Prelims and Mains. The preliminary exam stage consists of two papers while Mains comprises a written exam followed by Interview/ Personality Test. Candidates must secure the minimum cut off or more in the Prelims exam to be shortlisted for Mains. In the written part of Mains, candidates obtaining the minimum qualifying marks will be called for Personality Test. Based on the performance in Mains Written and Personality Test, candidates will be selected for the posts under UPSC Civil Services.

UPSC Civil Services 2019 Selection Process – Overview

Name of exam

UPSC Civil Services

Conducting body

Union Public Service Commission

Official website

Level of exam


Mode of exam

Offline/ written exam


To be announced

Stages of the exam

  • Prelims

  • Mains – Written exam and Personality Test

UPSC Civil Services Selection Process 2019 – Dates

The dates for the selection process of UPSC Civil Services 2019 has been provided in the table below.


UPSC Civil Services 2019


February 2, 2019

Application form to be released on

February 19, 2019

Last date to register

March 18, 2019

Application editing window closes

Last week of March, 2019

Issuance of admit card

Second week of May 2019

UPSC CS Prelims 2019 exam

June 2, 2019

Declaration of Prelims result

August 2019

Issuance of Mains admit card

September 2019

Mains exam

September 20 – September 29, 2019

Result of UPSC Civil Services Mains 

November 2019

Call letter for Personality Test

To be announced

Declaration of final result

To be announced

Stages of UPSC Civil Services Selection Process 2019

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts UPSC Civil Services in two stages – Prelims and Mains. The stages of UPSC Civil Services 2019 has been given below:

UPSC Civil Services Selection Process 2019 – Prelims

Candidates having successfully applied for the examination will be issued admit card to appear for Prelims exam. The exam stage comprises two compulsory papers – General Studies Paper 1 and 2. Each paper consists of 200 marks, that is, the exam will be conducted for a total of 400 marks. Questions asked in both papers of the exam will be objective type questions. Candidates will be allotted 2 hours to complete each paper. Candidates will be selected for the next stage of the exam, Mains written exam, on the basis of marks secured in Paper 1 as Paper 2 is qualifying in nature with minimum qualifying marks determined by the Commission at 33%. 

UPSC Civil Services 2019 Selection Process – Mains

The Mains exam is held in two parts - Written exam and Personality Test. The written exam will consist of 9 papers of which Paper A and B are qualifying in nature while candidates must obtain the minimum cut off in Paper 1-7. Candidates securing the minimum cut off or more in Mains Written exam will be called for the Personality Test. The Interview/ Personality Test will be held for 275 marks.

UPSC Civil Services 2019 Selection Process – Final Allotment

After the conduct of Interview, the commission will prepare merit list for recruitment on the basis of marks secured in Mains Written and Personality Test. Shortlisted candidates will be recruited to the posts opted by them during the time of registration. Candidates who have chosen more than one post will be provided a post on the basis of preference.

What after final allotment in UPSC Civil Services Selection Process 2019?

After the declaration of the merit list, UPSC hands over the Service (post) allocation process to the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT). Posts are allotted based on merit and category of candidates. DoPT conducts Service allocation in rounds. After allocation, DoPT will dispatch the official service allocation letter through post and email. Next, Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration (LBSNAA) will begin the registration process of all selected candidates for Foundation Course (FC). Foundational Course is held for 15 weeks and the goal of the training provides a basic understanding of the constitutional, political, socio-economic and legal framework of India. After FC, Professional Training (Phase 1) will be held for a duration of 26 weeks. The training aims to develop professional skills to deal with a large range of responsibilities. District Training conducted for 52 weeks is the most significant part of Probationer’s training. During District Training, the trainees learn about the various facets of administration at a district level. Professional Training (Phase 2) is designed to consolidate learning and assignment of district experiences gained over one year in the field with the technical constructs taught earlier. Next, Cadre Allocation will be conducted during which candidates will be allocated as cadres. There is one cadre in each Indian state, except for three joint cadres - Assam–Meghalaya, Manipur–Tripura and Arunachal Pradesh–Goa–Misogamy–Union Territories (AGMUT).

The question have been saved in answer later, you can access it from your profile anytime. Access now

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books