Special Class Railway Apprentices’ (SCRA) is an examination conducted by UPSC for the selection of qualifying candidates for appointment as Special Class Apprentices in Mechanical Engineering Department of Indian Railways.

SCRA 2015 is scheduled to be held on January 18, 2015. 

Exam – Special Class Railway Apprentices’

Commonly known as – SCRA 2015


Exam Type – National 


Exam Category – UG 


Conducting Authority – UPSC


Exam Fees – Rs. 100


For any queries and doubts, call SCRA 2015 Premium Helpline @ 011-40360360 


SCRA 2015 Eligibility Criteria – Applicants should be considered eligible to appear in Special Class Railway Apprentices’ (SCRA) 2014, if they have passed SSC (10+2 examination) or equivalent from a recognized institute.

Candidates should have attained the age of 17 years and should be less than 21 years as on January 1, 2015. 


SCRA 2015 Application Form – The application form for SCRA 2015 are available from October 11 till November 7, 2014. Candidates applying for SCRA 2015 need to fill in the online application in two registration parts. While in Part I of registration, they need to fill in their essential details including name, father’s name, educational qualification, date of birth, etc, in the second part of registration, they have to upload their photograph and signature after depositing the application fee.


SCRA 2015 Online Application Form Link – http://www.upsconline.nic.in/mainmenu2.php


SCRA 2015 Admit Card – Candidates will be able to download SCRA 2015 Admit Card tentatively three weeks before the scheduled date of exam. Candidates will have take a print out of the admit card and carry it in the exam centre along with a proof of identity. No candidate shall be allowed to appear in the exam without a valid SCRA 2015 admit card.

SCRA 2015 Exam Pattern – Candidates appearing in SCRA 2015 Exam will have a question paper comprising objective type questions of 600 marks. The objective type questions shall cover three different papers including General Ability Test, Physical Sciences and mathematics. The questions will be in English medium.


Duration of the examination – 6 hours (2 hours each for 3 papers)


Total marks for SCRA 2015 – 600 marks


Marking Scheme – Negative Marking is applicable for every incorrect response. One-third (1/3) shall be deducted.

Subject Areas

Paper Code

Marks Allotted

General Ability Test



Physical Sciences









SCRA 2015 Result – UPSC shall be declaring SCRA 2015 Result tentatively one month after the conduct of exam. The candidates who shall qualify SCRA 2015 shall be invited for Personality Test, which shall carry a maximum of 200 marks. The candidates who shall qualify SCRA 2015 Personality Test will be declared finally selected for SCRA 2015.

Stay tuned to competition.careers360.com for more news and feature articles on SCRA 2015

Never miss exam and college updates Login
The question have been saved in answer later, you can access it from your profile anytime. Access now

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books